First Home Update: Been Had Math Bookz

Exciting parts of being home: YZ, Math Books, Nessie

I ordered an absurd number of math books from Amazon to celebrate being done with my first year. I probably ordered far more than I actually need, but whatever.

List:

Lang – Complex Analysis

Schey – Div, Grad, Curl, and All That

Tenenbaum/Pollard – Ordinary Differential Equations

Gamelin/Greene – Introduction to Topology

Edwards – Advanced Calculus of Several Variables

Kreyszig – Differential Geometry

Cartan – Elementary Theory of Analytic Functions of One or Several Complex Variables

Stein/Shakarchi – Fourier, Complex, wa Real Analysis

Spivak – Calculus on Manifolds

Munkres – Topology

Pressley – Elementary Differential Geometry

*BONUS* – Brustad/Battal/Al-Tonsi – Al-Kitaab fii Ta’allum al-‘Arabiyya II

Hungerford – Algebra

Kuhnel – Differential Geometry: Curves-Surfaces-Manifolds

do Carmo – Differential Geometry of Curves and Surfaces

Dummit/Foote – Abstract Algebra

Lang – Algebra

Munkres – Analysis on Manifolds

Rudin (RIP) – Real and Complex Analysis

This is legit probably way too many books. I guess part of me feels like by buying more books I’ll be more inclined to work through them. I don’t know…we’ll see how that goes.

Today was also my first official day of studying. It was hard to get back into the analysis mindset. I think I might go back through Rudin to kind of remind  myself how some of this stuff works. I just feel like it’s a different way of thinking than algebra. To take a break today, I worked through the first few sections of Dummit and Foote. It was mainly review, but I like thinking about algebra more than I do analysis. Maybe that will change, since next year will be fairly analysis/topology heavy. I’m thinking right now Algebra/Complex/Differential Geometry first semester, and Topology/Real/214, with DG/214 being optional depending on how I feel I’m doing. I want to take 214 so I can maybe take a class on Algebraic Number Theory Junior Fall. I don’t really know how Junior seminars work, but I’d like to take Algebraic Geometry Junior fall too, assuming I do well enough in algebra. idk we’ll see how it goes.

I’m having trouble focusing on proofs as well. Maybe it’s just because it’s the beginning of summer. I’ll see how it goes. I basically read the first chapter in a bunch of books on analysis, trying to remember how compact/connected/open/closed and all that stuff works. Maybe tomorrow will be more fruitful. I think I’m just going to focus on analysis again tomorrow, trying to get a grasp on this stuff again. I’ll start on Arabic again next week.

That’s it for now.

Leave a comment